Book Club

I love a good book. I love reading books.  I love discussing the ideas and storylines of books. Books are an open door into a new ideas, or old ideas articulated in a new way, and sometimes a doorway into a world so wonderfully different than my own.

I have an idea that’s been knocking around in my head for several months….a virtual book club where anyone who’s interested in the book can join the discussion. I’ll pick books that have captured my fancy, challenged me, or just been downright fun to read.  That’s all to say there’s no over arching rules or theme to how books will be selected.  So no rules on having to show up each month.  Read the ones that resonate with you, opt out of the ones that don’t 😉

I started reading a book that is relevant to the work I do with ‘Ohana Oasis and in my personal life – especially now when the gathering of people is such a prized privilege.  It just makes sense to launch a book club with it.  It’s called the Art of Gathering by Priya Parker. Her ideas are already challenging me to think about how I plan times with my friends as well as re-energize how I facilitate groups. 

We’ll meet virtually using the concepts in the Art of Gathering, on Tuesday, January 5th at 5:00pm PST, 6:00pm MST, 7:00pm CST, and 8:00pm EST.  Here’s the zoom meeting access information:

https://zoom.us/j/95051002684?pwd=R0xhM3JzaXdSdGFQUEJxcVRoTVFpQT09

Meeting ID: 950 5100 2684

Passcode: 265063

Here’s a link to purchase the book through a great site that supports the local bookstore of your choice when you purchase your books online through their non-profit site.  And the books are available in variety of formats including digitally and audibly.

The author was recently interviewed by Brene Brown on her podcast. You can listen here.

About the Book:

In The Art of Gathering, Priya Parker argues that the gatherings in our lives are lackluster and unproductive–which they don’t have to be. She gives a map on how we can focus on distinctiveness and the people involved. She sets forth a human-centered approach to gathering that will help everyone create meaningful, memorable experiences for work and for play.

Reviews:

“[A] remarkable new book about how we spend our time together, at work, at home, and beyond. If you want to get more out of every event, whether it’s with your boss and co-workers or friends and family, The Art of Gathering can help.” –Bustle

“[A] fantastic book . . . . Good things happen when people connect. Especially when we follow Priya’s sage advice.” –Forbes